craftiness and a tribute

I’m not a purse kind of girl. But one day a few years ago at Target, there was the most perfect purse/diaper bag ever. And it was $5. Done and Done. That bag lasted me through 3 babies and was wholly dedicated to the role of “stuff schelpper.” Despite some stains and torn linings, and some gaping rips towards the end, I loved my bag. However, it was time to say good bye and pass the torch to a new baby and mommy detritus carrier.  Back to Target I went and they have some pretty great bags. But, here are  some things you should know about me though. I’m kind of cheap. And I have a cabinet full of material waiting for that perfect project. So the bags I saw were definitely not $30 great and the material was calling to me from the cabinet. Who am I to say no to pleading fabric?

I went to the internet and found some really cool ideas and free patterns (my inner tightwad rejoiced). This one was the winner: 

Boho Sling Bag Tutorial

IMG_8354    IMG_8360

IMG_8362    IMG_8363

Slouchy hobo bags are the worst pictures models ever. But on the plus side they make great cat snuggle pillows.

Overall it wasn’t bad to put it together. The pattern was simple and the online tutorial is very well done and easy to follow. I learned some new things and really am pleased with how it turned out, especially since it took maybe 2-1/2 hours total work. Not to mention me and the kids can beat the snot out of it and when it dies, I’ll make a new one.

1 Comment

Filed under crafts

One response to “craftiness and a tribute

  1. mommyontheloose.com

    So cute, nicely done! And I agree about bags being bad picture posers. It’s a problem I have as well.

Leave a comment